It has been some time and there were other trips this year, which I didn’t post about yet. But the trip to Yunnan, Sichuan and Hongkong was so impressive that I plan to do at least some posts about it.

Map of my Yunnan/Sichuan/Hongkong trip

The first visual “appetizers” come here:

Our local guide (a member of the Bai) allowed us to attend a temple ceremony near Erhai Lake. The ceremony was attended only by elderly women (the men were playing Majong on the other side of the road) and it was very touching that a member of our group started crying.

Before the trip the visit of Chengdu Research Base of Giant Panda Breeding in Sichuan was one of the main objectives of this trip, as visiting the base was a lifelong dream of mine. The pandas (I saw roughly 50 to 60) did not disappoint and I spent a whole day there.

