Green Island: A NovelGreen Island: A Novel by Shawna Yang Ryan

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

One of the best books I read recently. Maybe one could label it as the “novel of Taiwan”?
I stumbled across it at an airport bookstore as I forgot to take a book with me from home.


The Green Island I remembered from an earlier vacation in Taiwan – I did not make it there because of strong winds.

The author combines telling the dark side of Taiwan’s history after the Second World War with everyday life aspects we all know in almost perfect fashion. Of course many of those aspects go back to what happened on Green Island, but others don’t. I learned much about Taiwan through this book. Not only about history, but also about cultural aspects and todays political developments.
You can also read this book if you are not interested in history and politics. The story alone is very thrilling, touching (got wet eyes more than once) and just very well written.

I rarely award five stars – but here we go (Maybe four stars if I had no special interest in Taiwan).

View all my reviews

