Some two weeks ago I asked my readers to vote for the Photo of the Year 2016, so I could have a contribution to the group “Your best shot 2016” at Flickr.

A record number of 42 votes were casted and we got a clear (and for me surprising winner):

Burning sky just after sunset at  T i t i s e e

Burning sky just after sunset at Titisee, Black Forest, Baden, Germany

This photo was taken with my smartphone during a walk around the lake just after sunset. The location is only some three kilometres from my flat and I’m lucky to live here. This twilight photo collected 11 votes, which means that a bit more than every fourth participant voted for this photo.

 

This photo of Liang Liang a female Giant Panda at Zoo Negara, Kuala Lumpur (Malaysia) came second. She collected six votes and won the tiebreaker (a late vote by comment) over the third placed photo. If you want to see more photos of the Giant Pandas at Zoo Negara just click here.

Liang Liang - Giant pandas Liang Liang (female) and cub Nuan Nuan (female) at Zoo Negara, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

 

A photo taken in the scenic Vietnamese city of Hoi An collected also six votes and  was therefore my third most popular photo of the year 2016. Hoi An was probably also my favourite place in Vietnam and I highly recommend a visit. I hope to write more about Vietnam at a later point, but feel free to visit my photo album already now.

 
Final day in Hoi An, Vietnam

